Another First

Well I did it. A first for me.

I booked a vacation. On my own.

I’m going to spend 4 days at the beach, in a room, by myself. I will drive there by myself.

I will sleep there by myself.

I will explore the (well-known to me) area by myself.

I will go to the beach, lay on the sand and read by myself.

I will walk on the beach at sunset by myself.

I will do this.

I can do this.

I must do this.

I need to stop waiting. Waiting for someone else to come with me, or to invite me elsewhere.

Sure, this vacation is the first week in August, and that’s a long way away. However, it’s also a busy beach town and hotels book up fast – especially reasonably priced ones.

It’s not the fanciest of motels but it suits my needs. I am not a top-shelf girl.

A bed, air conditioning, fridge, microwave and pool. Those are my basic requirements for a hotel. It’s walking distance to the beach (a mile), or for $1 I can take public transport. (Parking is outrageous during daylight hours). I know the beaches, the restaurants, the area exceptionally well, as I’ve been vacationing there in some form since I was a kid with my parents.

If my mom was healthier I’d take her with me but she’s already decided that she’s staying put.

I’ve made my plans. I’ve even planned out my days so that I know how much I can see and do in the short time I’m there. Lighthouses, nature hiking, kayaking and shopping are planned, plus assorted beach time.

I can do this. I need to do this, for me.

And if, by some miracle, someone does come along in the months between now and August….

Well he better damn sure love the beach. That’s all I’m saying.

Leave a Reply

